Castle Dargan win Chamber’s 17th Annual Golf Classic

Castle Dargan made best use of home advantage in winning the Sligo Chamber Annual Golf Classic sponsored by Stephen Mullen and Sons of Sligo Haulage and Distribution Ltd on Friday last. The winning team took in a combined score of 89 points, 7 ahead of their nearest rivals from Ulster Bank. The event was played in perfect conditions with all competitors commenting very favourably on the excellent condition of the course.

In all there were 8 team and other individual prizes on offer with winners from Gilroy Gannon, David Harty and Associates, Johnstons Court, Bridgestock and Wehrly Jewellers. First prize was a fourball with overnight accommodation at Carton House with other prizes sponsored by Wehrly Brothers, Bistro Bianconi, Clifford Electrical, The Embassy Rooms, Eala Bán, Voya, Tohers Chemist, The Wine Buff, Hargadons and Kates Kitchen.
Chamber President Des Faul thanked the many sponsors of the event, including Kingsbridge Private Hospital, Sligo Park Hotel, Jennings O’Donovan & Partners, Eason, Mulhern Leonard Charted Accountants and Tax Consultants, Burke & Associates Chartered Accountants, Supervalue Ballisodare, Coggins & Co Chartered Accountants, Brooks, AIB Business Bank, The Glasshouse and Apex Controls.
He was particularly appreciative of Stephen Mullen’s financial support of the event, noting that the Sligo Haulage and Distribution team won the ladies prize, captained by Stephen’s wife Ann who is also Lady Vice Captain of Castle Dargan Golf Club.
Team Prize:
1st: Castle Dargan: R O’Grady, P McGonnigle, K Conlon, D Donovan
2nd: Ulster Bank: L Walsh, B Boyle, R Kelly, S Heavey
3rd: Gilroy Gannon: A Doyle, J McHugh, K Barry, S McHugh
4th: D Harty & Associates: H O’Neill, B Connolly, P Heelan, D Harty
5th: Johnstons Court: J Dunt, D Keon, G McGloin, C Keon
6th: Bridgestock: D Roynane, E McSlain, P Byrne, C Duffy
7th Wehrly Bros: G McManus, D McDermott, S Gilligan, T Wehrly
Ladies Prize: Sligo Haulage: A Mullen, S Clancy, B Henry, N Linnane
Nearest Pin: K Conlon
Longest Drive Ladies: A Mullen
Longest Drive Men: D Roynane